Association Recognizes ‘Best in the West’

The “Best in the West” were recognized at the Association’s annual conference last month in Portland, OR.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!

Todd Sanders (left), outgoing W.A.C.E. chair, stands with the Outstanding Chamber Program award winners, including: Erik Williams from Vail Valley (CO) Partnership, John Brewer from the Billings (MT) Chamber, Vonnie Mikkelsen from the Springfield Area (OR) Chamber, Diane Schwenke from the Grand Junction Area (CO) Chamber, and Chris Romer from the Vail Valley (CO) Partnership.
Eddie Truong (right), Director of Government & Community Relations at The Silicon Valley (CA) Organization, received the Gerald W. Hathaway Staff Person of the Year Award from last year’s recipient, Jessica Welch, ACE of the Greater Irvine (CA) Chamber.

Individual Awards

Russell E. Pettit “Excellence in Leadership” Award: Pat Patrick, Lodi District (CA) Chamber.

Executive of the Year Award: Joshua Bonner, Greater Coachella Valley (CA) Chamber.

Gerald W. Hathaway “Staff Person of the Year” Award: Eddie Truong, The Silicon Valley (CA) Organization.

Rusty Hammer Scholarship Award: Shannon Buckmaster, Chehalem Valley (OR) Chamber.

25-Year Service Awards: Lorraine Clarno, ACE, Beaverton (OR) Chamber; Valerie Washburn, Redding (CA) Chamber.

30-Year Service Awards: Mike Neal, Tulsa (OK) Chamber; Janet Steele, Albany (OR) Chamber.

40-Year Service Award: David May, Fort Collins Area (CO) Chamber.

New Accredited Chamber Executives: Patrick Ellis, ACE, Murrieta/Wildomar (CA) Chamber; Chris Romer, ACE, Vail Valley (CO) Partnership; Jessica Welch, ACE, Greater Irvine (CA) Chamber.

ACE 10-Year Renewals: Jill Lagan, ACE, Boulder City (NV) Chamber; Nancy Lindholm, ACE, Oxnard (CA) Chamber.

ACE 20-Year Renewal: Nancy Hoffman-Vanyek, ACE, Greater San Fernando Valley (CA) Chamber.

Outstanding Program Awards

• Billings (MT) Chamber: “Elections Matter.”

• Grand Junction (CO) Chamber: “Workforce Innovation Program.”

• Springfield (OR) Chamber: “Work Ready.”

• Vail Valley (CO) Partnership: “Smart Business Eagle County.”

• Vail Valley (CO) Partnership: “CareerWise Youth Apprenticeship.”

Overall Outstanding Communications Award

Greater Irvine (CA) Chamber.

Chamber Video Awards

• First Place: Lubbock (TX) Chamber.

• Special Merit: Vail Valley (CO) Partnership.

• Honorable Mention: Greater Reedley (CA) Chamber.

Newsletter/Magazine Awards

• First Place: Eugene (OR) Chamber.

• First Place: Greater Riverside (CA) Chambers.

• Honorable Mention: Las Vegas Metro (NV) Chamber.

• Honorable Mention: Carlsbad (CA) Chamber.

E-Newsletter Awards

• First Place: Greater Irvine (CA) Chamber.

• Special Merit: Greater Conejo Valley (CA) Chamber.

• Honorable Mention: Greater Coachella Valley (CA) Chamber.

Website Awards

• First Place: Allen Fairview (TX) Chamber.

• Special Merit: Greater Irvine (CA) Chamber.

• Honorable Mention: Yountville (CA) Chamber.